Scottish Scrabble® League and SILK



Scottish Clubs


ABSP Ratings






The latest news from the Scottish League and the Scottish Individual League and Knockout (SILK) is given below.

League   SILK

You can phone the SSA on 0800 555 2266 or you can email the Secretary

SCRABBLE® and associated trademarks and trade dress are owned by, and used under licence from, Mattel, Inc.
SCRABBLE is a registered trademark of J.W. Spear & Sons Limited, a subsidiary of Mattel, Inc.
© 2012 Mattel, Inc. All Rights Reserved.


Back to top

The teams for the 2016 League were -

Bingoes : Tom Wilson, Christine McKenzie, Marion Keatings, Caroline Atkins

Dunedin : Simon Gillam, Ross Mackenzie, James Squires

Eagles : Margaret Harkness, Melanie Beaumont, Chris Cummins, Helga Farrow

Roc : Amy Byrne, Sylvia Swaney, Colin Nicol, Piotr Andronowski, Heather Laird

Scorpions : Mary Jones, Billy Dott, John Balloch, Moya Dewar

Waverley : Wilma Warwick, Alan Sinclair, Kenneth Ross

Final team positions -

Team  W     D     L    Points   W     D    L  

Final individual positions -

Name  W     D     L    Points 
Ross Mackenzie3301266
Chris Cummins3301266
James Squires3101462
Amy Byrne3001560
Alan Sinclair2801756
Simon Gillam2711755
Wilma Warwick2701854
Colin Nicol *2311847
Billy Dott *2211945
Christine McKenzie *2002140
Tom Wilson1912539
Marion Keatings1912539
Mary Jones *1702234
Kenneth Ross1602932
John Balloch *1502430
Sylvia Swaney *1212625
Melanie Beaumont *903018
Margaret Harkness903618
Moya Dewar *60912
Piotr Andronowski *3006
Heather Laird *1022
Caroline Atkins *1022
Helga Farrow *1052

* These players do not have a complete set of games


Back to top

SILK ran in 2016 with one northern and one central group.

The players were -

Central Group : Piotr Andronowski, Amy Byrne, Chris Cummins, Caroline Foy, Simon Gillam, Margaret Harkness, Stu Harkness,
Marion Keatings, Ross Mackenzie, Colin Nicol, Tom Wilson, Ricky Zinger

Northern Group : Niyi Adebayo, Margaret Armstrong, Gloria Garrett Schofield, Michael Harley, Phil Jones,
Kate Leckie, Sandy MacLeod, Peter Preston, Neil Scott, Nigel Sibbett

Results -

Central Group

  PA    AB    CC    CF    SG    MH    SH    MK    RM    CN    TW    RZ    Won  
Piotr Andronowski X332333 3233331/33
Amy Byrne 0X13011 2212013/33
Chris Cummins 02X3232 2222323/33
Caroline Foy 100X000 101115/33
Simon Gillam 0313X21 2211319/33
Margaret Harkness 02031X0 20222.514.5/33
Stu Harkness 021323X 1020216/33
Marion Keatings 0112112 X003213/33
Ross Mackenzie 1113133 3X22121/33
Colin Nicol 0212211 31X2116/33
Tom Wilson 0112213 011X315/33
Ricky Zinger 030200.51 1220X11.5/33

Piotr, Chris, Ross and Simon qualified for the final.

Northern Group

  NA    MA    GGS     MH    PJ    KL     SM    PP    NS     NS    Won  
Niyi Adebayo X23232 210318/27
Margaret Armstrong 1X1132 210213/27
Gloria Garrett Schofield 02X332 100213/27
Michael Harley 120X21 201110/27
Phil Jones 0001X0 12004/27
Kate Leckie 11123X 310012/27
Sandy MacLeod 112120 X0007/27
Peter Preston 223312 3X1219/27
Neil Scott 333233 32X325/27
Nigel Sibbett 011233 310X14/27

Neil and Peter qualified for the final, but Peter did not attend.

The final took place on October 22-23, and took the form of a triple round robin between the five finalists. Chris Cummins won the title. The final results were -

Chris Cummins8
Piotr Andronowski8
Neil Scott7
Ross Mackenzie5
Simon Gillam2